RSS

The Reserved ordered items inventory parameter

30 Sep

timsaxblog

So I must admit I’m a bit conflicted about the best way to set this parameter. I like to leave it off, but other consultants I’ve worked with think that it should be on.

Inventory management > Setup > Inventory management parameters > General:


So what does it do? Well it lets you reserve from open supply orders as well as physical inventory. By supply orders I mean purchase orders, production orders, or transfer orders.

So the first thing you might notice is the on-hand display. With the parameter selected I see:


But with it off, the system shows:


Let’s leave ‘Reserved ordered items’ blank, and create a sales order for 20. If I have Automatic reservation enabled, when I create the sales order I’ll see:


Fair enough. I’m ordering 20 and there are only 11 in the warehouse, so the system’s asking me what I’d like to do.

Now…

View original post 267 more words

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 30, 2016 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
